Sorry for the downtime, welcome back!!

Preferred way to iron perlers?

Discuss how you complete your crafts...
funkymonkey
Rank 10 - Cape Mario
Rank 10 - Cape Mario

Preferred way to iron perlers?

Post by funkymonkey »

Since I'm new to perler beads, I don't really know what the "standard" way to iron them is. On the instructions that come with the kit, it says to iron one side on the board, flip it, and iron the back as well. Most things I see online show people only ironing one side. It seems you still want the holes to show, but then some people iron them solid so they don't show. Which side is the front, the ironed side or the holed side? If it's the "hole" side, and you iron both sides, there wouldn't be a front!

I am very confused. :confused:

Maybe it is all just personal preference, but is there a "standard" way to make these?? Thanks!!

RMDC
Rank 12 - Yoshi Mario
Rank 12 - Yoshi Mario

Re: Preferred way to iron perlers?

Post by RMDC »

To add to this: How does one prevent the piece from curling while ironing?
Mostly hibernating here. Find me on Twitter @rmdcade.

katdun
Rank 7 - Kuribo Mario
Rank 7 - Kuribo Mario

Post by katdun »

I'm definitely not an expert, but I can share what I've done. I always consider the "holed" side to be the front (I think it looks better on most of my projects), so I always put the beads on the pegs mirrored so that it comes out right when it's ironed. I only iron the one side of mine. To keep my projects from curling, I put a cake pan with weight in it over the whole thing right after I iron it (while it's still warm and with the paper still on) until it's cooled off enough to peel from the pegboard. I've only made small things, but so far so good!
Last edited by katdun on Sat Jul 07, 2012 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Current Projects:
Pen Pals!
Sprite Stitch Swap!
Learning to crochet!

funkymonkey
Rank 10 - Cape Mario
Rank 10 - Cape Mario

Post by funkymonkey »